Beware the Ides of March

My blogging spell was finally broken. I blogged sporadically for the last 4 weeks or so. I had promised myself that I was going to keep this going for the whole year, and keep the flow of useless thoughts I may have, flowing through my fingers. Unfortunately, like so many things in my life, that resolution finally fell on the way side, as I wandered off the road to Blogging Nirvana…..

 

BUT……. (drum roll)

 

I AM BACK!! and I am back with a vengeance. I have resolved to pick up my blogging banner and boldly march on this adventure again. The Ides of March seemed to be the perfect day. The day Julius Caeser died, so have I  resurrected this blog (again).

 

What have been doing lately?

 

 Very Busy at work. I thought of making this as an excuse for not updating my blog, but I decided against it. That has been the best part of the past couple of weeks. Being busy lets me focus more on my own code, rather than my bosses, who seem to have talent for their subordinates insane Are all bosses like this. Been writing a lot of ATL and COM code lately and that has been a lot of fun. Have been putting in 10 and 11 hours  at work every day or so. I still remember those horrible days back in 1999 and 2000 when I was first trying to learn OLE, COM and ATL. I just did’nt get it. Six years later, its the same stuff and it so seems obvious now. It’s really hard to believe that I was THAT dumb back then that I had to read everything twice just to make sure I could at least pretend I knew what I was talking about. My opinion of myself back then has sunk a little lower.

 

LISP programming has gone slower. Working my way of Chapter 4 of ANSI Common Lisp. Will post the solutions as soon as I get through them. In addition, I’ve started learning DirectX HLSL. I think it might come in useful in some image processing work that I’m doing right now.

Leave a Reply

